Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Most Memorable Secondary Characters

banner_toptentuesdays

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish list meme hosted byΒ The Broke and the Bookish. To know more about it and participate, click here.

This week’s top ten list is about Memorable Secondary Characters. Well, I’m having a little trouble finding 10 secondary characters that were so perfectly written that they were simply unforgettable. Sadly, authors tend to dismiss secondary characters as mere accessories to the plot, so they’re not that layered and well built. However, I do have a few in my pocket and if you count Mr and Mrs Bennet separately, I made it to ten!

Top Ten (or Nine!) Most Memorable Secondary Characters
(This time in gif style, because they’re too cool to be featured in static pictures)

1. Severus Snape

I love Snape and I’m not that big of a fan of the Harry Potter series (I know, I’m weird, please don’t throw sticks at me… I just never got the chance to read past book 4). Still, read the first 4 books several times and saw all the movies. Snape’s character has always been one of my favourites. He’s also so deliciously layered! I just like his attitude, pose and emo kid style. He’s by far one of my favourite secondary characters ever!

2. Gollum

Gollum, gollum!!! I love the Smeagol/Gollum duo from The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings trilogy. Together they make this incredible character, so twisted and layered and overall one of the most unforgettable characters in the fantasy genre.

3. Mr and Mrs Bennet

Have you read Pride & Prejudice or, at least, seen the movies? P&P is one of my favourite books of all time, although not my favourite Austen. Nevertheless, I’m a huge fan, not only because a part of me is a hopeless romantic who loves Lizzy and Darcy, but also because all the characters in this book are absolutely amazing. Mr and Mrs Bennet are unforgettable. She is your typical mother hen, yet so ridiculously funny. She’s just full of love. πŸ™‚ Mr. Bennet is witty, sometimes sarcastic, charismatic, book lover and a loving father. His dialogues were always so fun to read. If it weren’t for the Bennet parents, the book wouldn’t have the tremendous success we still see today.

5. Mr. Collins

Yes, he’s waving at you. πŸ˜€ Mr. Collins is absolutely ridiculous and creepy yet, at the same time, hilarious. (Yes…also P&P). It’s been years and years since I read the book and I still find myself and some of my friends joking around saying “Well, perhaps Mr. Collins has a cousin!”. Behold that wave and creepy smile. He’s just unforgettable…in a bad, absolutely funny way.

5.Β Ellen “Nelly” Dean

Nelly is the narrator of Wuthering Heights, also one of my favourite books of all time. She’s not very striking as a character. She’s observant, compassionate, comprehensive and quiet. Although, her voice stayed with me after all these years, and I could never quite forget her. So, she made it to the list. πŸ™‚

6. Tyrion LannisterΒ 

If you read A Song of Ice and Fire series or saw the Game of Thrones TV series, you know Tyrion Lannister. I haven’t read all books in the series, yet… but I really like Tyrion. He is just absolutely crazy, flawed, hilarious…he’s pretty unique and that makes him memorable.

7. Violet Bridgerton

The Bridgertons series, by Julia Quinn, is my favourite historical romance series. I won’t start talking about it, otherwise I’ll get into fangirl mode and won’t shut up. Violet is the mother of all the Bridgerton “kids” and she is fantastic. Sadly, there’s no movies or series adaptations, so that is not really her “adaptated” face. However, I picture her looking somewhat similar to Mrs. Gardiner (also P&P, but I justΒ meanΒ the looks). She is incredibly strong, wise, compassionate and funny. Plus, she’s an incredible mother. Violet’s character adds to the series richness and quality. She holds everything together! Without her, it wouldn’t be the same.

8. Rebecca de Winter

Rebecca, by Daphne du Marier, is also one of my favourite books. Rebecca de Winter names the book, yet she never appears in it, since she’s death (or perhaps not? read it to find out). However, her presence is always so powerful and haunting that it’s incredible. She never appears in the novel, people. Yet, she manages to sweep us over and demand our attention. So, she’s part of my list.

9. Minny

See that? Read The Help to know what that’s all about. I won’t tell you, but I’ll never forget Minny for that. I lover this character. As the synopsis say, Minny is “short, fat, and perhaps the sassiest woman in Mississippi. She can cook like nobody’s business, but she can’t mind her tongue, so she’s lost yet another job.” Read the book + see the movie = falling in love with Minny.

Β Now, let’s hear it from you. πŸ™‚ Which are your most memorable secondary characters? Do you share some of mine? Let me know all about it!

25 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Most Memorable Secondary Characters

  1. This is a great list – you’ve chosen a lot of my favourite characters! Snape is my favourite HP character (like you I’m not the biggest fan of the series in general), but I also think Neville Longbottom never gets the credit he deserves – an absolute sweetie & very brave when he needs to be. A secondary character (or pair of characters) that I love are John Wemmick and Aged P in Great Expectations – a brilliant comic couple who really stand out for me. I really enjoyed your descriptions of the characters you chose!

    • Neville Longbottom!! I agree with you, he should get more credit. For some reason, people keep forgetting about him, me included. I bought Great Expectations last week, so I’ll be paying close attention to John Wemmick and Aged P when I start reading it! Thank you so much for stopping by. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Chrissi! I had to use her. I loved the book so much, and the everlasting presence of Rebecca was a huge part of what made me have this books as a favourite. She’s never there and, at the same time, is just as if she’s been there all the time.
      Thank you so much for stopping by! πŸ™‚

  2. Great list of characters. I love Tyrion myself, he’s the only redeeming feature in the Lannister family. And Mr + Mrs. Bennett are a favorite as well, especially Mr. Bennett.

    • Yes! You’re so right about Tyrion. Although I’m starting to like Jamie, too. The thing with GRRM is that you never know how he’s going to play the characters next. They’re all so layered and full of secrets. And Mr Bennett… well he’s just precious! πŸ˜€

    • Ack, it cut the rest of my comment off. I was going to say that you have such great choices and I love including Snape! He’s definitely not a favorite character of mine but he is very memorable, especially in the later books.

      • Oh, I hate when that happens! (get my comments cut in halves) πŸ™‚ One of the greatest things about the HP series is that all the secondary characters are extremely well written. They’re all amazing and precious. I have a weakness for villains with multi layers so I couldn’t help to love Snape. Thank you for stopping by, Stormy!

    • Oh, I’m glad you liked my list, Jessica!! Snape, Gollum and Tyrion are just too precious to be easily forgotten. Thank you stopping by my blog! πŸ™‚

    • YES!! I love them so much. πŸ™‚ MINNY!!! That woman has my respect and admiration. *bows down to Minny’s sassiness and overall creative pie cooking skills* πŸ˜‰

  3. Oh, this was quite an interesting list to do (if you want to, you can check it out on my blog). I totally agree abut the fact that secondary characters aren’t given enough importance by their authors. I so loved the fact that you included Snape in there, I loved him but didn’t put him in there because I already had Ron and Hermione in the list and didn’t want to clutter it with Harry Potter characters. The same with Gollum. And Tyrion! He’s definitely one of my favourite characters of all time! However, can he be called a secondary character?
    Well anyway, absolutely LOVE your choices!
    Keep Writing!

    • I’m definitely checking your list! Thank you for taking the time to visit mine. πŸ™‚
      I understand what you mean. It’s hard to pick just a few from HP’s secondary characters. They are all incredibly well written!
      About Tyrion, that’s a pretty good question and I’m glad you made it! I still don’t know exactly which is/are the main characters in GRRM books. There was a time when I thought that the MC’s were the heads of each family (Ned Stark, Tywin/Cersei, King Robert, Daenerys) then changed my mind to those who wanted to sit in the Iron Throne (after Ned and Robert died). Right now, I don’t know what to think. So much has changed since the first books. Still, on Game of Thrones (book #1) Tyrion wasn’t exactly leading the plot, so let’s think of him as a supporting character in the beginning. He is gaining power as the story progresses though, and I agree with you that now he probably is a MC. See my problem? How do you distinguish this series MC’s from the secondary?

  4. I never got past the fourth book either. I started the 5th, but didn’t finish. Love that series though, so I’m going to pick it back up soon from the beginning. Plus the movies rock.

    And I totally agree with Tyrion. I’ve only seen the show, but he’s an awesome character.

    • I kind of want to do the same as you, regarding HP books. Start from the beginning and walk my way until the end. Let’s see if I manage to do it sometime soon.
      And yes, Tyrion rocks!! πŸ˜€
      Thank you for stopping by, Jenn!! πŸ™‚

  5. I would never throw sticks at non-HP lovers, though I am super curious as to why you’ve never read past book 4. Time issues? Can I encourage you to read and review :D? Also I find it incredibly amazing that you liked Snape even without having read the entire series. I personally found it hard to tolerate him until maybe the 5th or 6th book, but after that? Definitely one of my favorite anti-heroes of all time.

    “although not my favourite Austen.” <– What is yours?

    Oooh goodness, Mrs. Bennet in movie and book makes me cringe. She's a total mother hen who's determined to do right by all her children, but yikes if she was my mom o.O. And even Mr. Bennet. I do love his one-liners about him and his wife and his disdain for societal conventions, but even he seems like a harsh father o.O. But then again, I suppose that makes both of them all the more compelling and real, eh?

    Ooh god. Mr. Collins is another guy that makes me cringe. You're right: so ridiculous and creepy and hilarious – funny in a bad way. And P&P totally wouldn't be the same without him… Huh, so I didn't form a TTT list this week, but you're making me realize that I would've not included characters like him, though they are PIVOTAL to making the humor really stand out.

    "saw the Game of Thrones TV series, you know Tyrion Lannister. I haven’t read all books in the series, yet… " Haven't read the first book yet even, but if it weren't for Tyrion and Jon Snow, I might not continue to follow Game of Thrones. So I'll cross my fingers they don't die like my other favorite side characters in that series, though hey… they'll never be safe from Martin…

    • Hey Christina!
      Why, of course you can!! See, I started to read HP books as soon as they were published in my home country. At the time, I was very close to Harry’s age in book #1 (actually, I think we were the same age), so I really connected with the book and characters. I got to the point of having my little book club with a couple of close friends, who were also reading the HP books. And it went well until the end of book #4. After that, I don’t remember why, but it too a really long time for book #5 to be published in my country (by long time I mean years) and I didn’t know that you could buy books in English at the time. So, it was a long wait and I started to move on to other books and genres, discovering chic-lit and sexy heroes. Also, When book #5 finally was released, that age relating factor was lost, the movies came and I saw them all with my cousin (sadly, he doesn’t like to read, but he adores cinema)…so I guess I just lost interest! During the 1st year of wait I reread books 1-4 about four times each! Then started His Dark Materials series (Philip Pullman) to help me wait, but only got to read book 1…same issue about publishing time. They never got to translate the other 3 books. Nevertheless, I do want to get back to them and read them all. I always liked Snape, though… Something about him told me that there was more to him than what meets the eye. But I always like “villains” and the sort, and in the beginning he was a really good “villain”. πŸ™‚

      Persuasion is my favourite Austen book. I love Anne Elliot and Captain Wentworth. I wish people could give them more credit. But I think what I love the most about the book is the story itself. πŸ™‚

      I believe no one would like to have Mrs. Bennet for mom! Can you imagine how embarrassing family/social gatherings would be if you’re not married/engaged/dating? I don’t know if I could go through a Christmas dinner with a mother like her. But she is funny and I could never forget her. πŸ™‚ It’s funny how you found Mr. Bennet kind of harsh… I always thought him too soft and allowing for letting Lydia go to Brighton. But I guess he could be harsh in a way…he was always saying that his younger daughters were silly and dumb. πŸ˜€ And Mr. Collins!! He’s so creepy!! Perhaps I shouldn’t have included him in my list, but I was really trying to think of the characters that I couldn never forget throughout the years, and he is definitely there. His little smile and wave gives me the creeps, yet I can’t stop laughing!!! πŸ˜€ Talk about “psycho” disguised as “good boy”. I don’t know how Charlotte married him… I mean, I understand but, still!! Well… I think his true love was Lady Catherine’s furniture and windows, so he should have married her instead. Don’t you think Austen had some tendency to write members of the clergy in a somewhat negative way? Unmasking their greedy, shallow characters? I’m thinking of Mr. Collins and Mr. Elton right now…

      And yes, Tyrion and Jon Snow are also two of the main reasons I watch the show. They are amazing! πŸ™‚

      Thank you so much for stopping by, Christina! Loved your comment!!! πŸ™‚

  6. I’ve honestly only ever read the first two books (Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings) and I absolutely agree with both of them! I think one of my favorite things about both characters is that struggle for the reader of determining whether they’re really good or bad. It’s easy to think they’re just evil at times, but then you see those signs that they have good in them and you just don’t know. I love it. (Haha at Snape’s emo kid clothing!)

    • That struggle is one of my favourite things while reading and getting to know a character. If a writer can create characters that layered and complex I’ll be a big fan.
      Thank you for stopping by, Asti! πŸ™‚

  7. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – Colorful Characters « Dancing with Fireflies

  8. This is one great list! I love Snape and Tyrion (I only watched the tv show, though) and well Gollum is super creepy but I agree he was a great character. I liked poor Mr.Bennet too. And Mr. Collins? No, just no. I mean he is a great character, but he’s the kind of character I’d gladly throttle πŸ˜› And I love that you included the “ghost” of Manderley.

    • Mr. Collins takes “creepy” to a whole new level. πŸ˜€ I’m glad you liked the list! I really tried to focus on the characters that after all this years I just couldn’t make myself forget. Some I love, some give me the creeps. Either way, they were so well-written that I loved them nonetheless. πŸ™‚

  9. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – Helpless « Dancing with Fireflies

Leave a Reply

