Top Ten Tuesday: Things That Make My Life As A Reader/Book Blogger Easier

banner_toptentuesdays

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish list meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. To know more about it and participate, click here.

This week’s theme is pretty interesting! I’m looking forward to read all your posts and share some tips that make our lives as readers/book bloggers much more easier. God knows how much we need it! I believe most of you might share with me the lack of time to be an active and highly productive book blogger and reader. So, sometimes, we really need some help.

Top Ten Things That Make My Life As A Reader/Book Blogger Easier
(click on the images and links to find the websites)

TTT_1 I dare say that every passionate reader in this planet with regular access to the Internet will have a Goodreads (GR) account to organise their shelves and rate the books they read. It needs no introduction. We all know it! As a book blogger, GR has always been a great tool, too. I like to direct people to the GR page of the books I talk about because you can find all the info you need about that book in it. And, since most people have a GR account they can add the book directly to the “to-read” shelf. It’s quick and easy to everyone!  As a reader, GR also helps me organise what I read and what I’ll read in the future. I never buy a book without checking the overall rating on Goodreads, so that tells you how dependent of it I am. To sum things up, it helps me keep things organised and it helps me finding new books to read.TTT_2

WordPress changed my life as a blogger. I remember that my first blog ever was blogspot.com and I used Blogger platform for a long, long time during my teens. Eventually I stopped blogging, but now that I have the experience of using both platforms, I definitely prefer and feel that it’s a lot easier to blog with WordPress. The themes are way better are you can completely customize them, you have more control over your blog (Blogger does not allow you to create self hosted blogs), more options to optimize your blog for search engines, better display of stats info, amazing pluggins and widgets, you have the media library, it looks and feels more professional, easy to use/very organised and complete dashboard, etc. WordPress made things easier for me.
TTT_3 TTT_4
Feedly and Pocket also changed my life both as a blogger and online reader. For as long as I can remember, I’ve been receiving every single update from the websites and blogs I follow on my e-mail. *It was a mess!!!!!* Since Google Reader decided to retire, a friend of mine told me that Feedly was the best alternative. You can keep there all the websites and blogs you follow and it feels like you’re reading one single website with all the content you read online. You can also divide your content in categories and tags. It’s really, really great. Pocket works sort of the same way, but it’s only for single articles and pages. I don’t usually have time to read all your latest posts during the week so, instead of having my e-mail spammed with new updates and my Favourites Bar overflowing with links I just wand to read once, I save all the things I want to read later in Pocket. These two little fellows really make it a lot easier for me to follow you.

TTT_5
Microsoft OneNote was a suggestion from Asti @A Bookish Heart. Thank you for introducing me to this, Asti! It also changed my life and I feel that everything is easier to deal with after I started to use it. It’s only been a week, I think, and I already feel that I have more control over my posts. I feel more focused about where I’m going with my blog. Check out Asti’s post where she tells you all about this tool.
TTT_6 Creative Market is a great place for bloggers with an interest in blog design. It’s makes it easier for me professionally, but also as a blogger because you can find all kinds of “handmade” fonts, templates, digital illustration, banners, (you name it!), at a great price. But that’s not where the party starts. Every week they let you have a few things FOR FREE, and they always send you an e-mail so that you won’t forget to get the free stuff each week. And the free stuff is usually really, really good to work with. So, there! Enjoy fellow design junkies. 😉TTT_7

If you check my IMM posts you’ll notice that 90% of my books come from charity shops. Yes, I’m a used books lover. But why do they make my life easier? Because they’re cheap and I can’t afford to buy everything I want to read otherwise. No.7 is a photo of an Oxfam Books near my flat. I pay them a visit every week, among other charity shops, like Irish Cancer Society. But this Oxfam Books really has good deals and used books that look like new.
TTT_8

AwesomeBooks is my “online charity shop”. 🙂 When most people buy books at Amazon, I buy used books with these fellows. They have a great staff and an effective refund policy.
TTT_9

Public libraries also make life easier when you’re short of money, which I usually am. The library in the picture is also near the place I live and I like to pay them a visit on my way to grocery shopping. Most of the time I just go there to visit the books. They have a really nice staff and a great collection. Plus, the building is enchanting!
TTT_10Yes!! You, dear reader and follower!! You, fellow book blogger!! You always make it easier with your fun and supportive comments, your discussion posts, your “let’s share experiences” posts, your book reviews and opinions. Without you life as a reader would be lonely and blogging would be boring. *Honestly, it would be impossible.* So, THANK YOU!

Now, let’s hear it from you. 🙂 What makes your life easier as a reader and/or blogger? Do you share some of the things that make it easier for me? Do you have any suggestions?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Things That Make My Life As A Reader/Book Blogger Easier

    • Hi Natali,
      Thank you for stopping by! WordPress is really great. It made blogging a lot easier for me. I can’t wait to check you TTT suggestions! 😉

  1. Love your list! Yay for the OneNote love! It’s my lifesaver. And heck yes to Feedly and WordPress!

    I can’t believe I didn’t think about my blog readers or other bloggers when making my list. DUH! What would my blog be without them? Each person that stops by my blog makes it so worth it!

    • I only have you to thank for OneNote awesomeness! I would have never tried if you hadn’t suggested it. 😉

      Blog readers and fellow bloggers are so important to me. It’s not that I want many followers or something like that. It’s just that knowing that you guys are there gives me a purpose to blog and makes me feel happier about it. It’s so hard to know people who love books as much as you do. By blogging about books you eventually find those people and you get to know them and all is so amazing. You people (book lovers) really make y life as a reader and a blogger much more easier and funnier. I mean, you introduced me to OneNote!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

