Top Ten Tuesday: Books With Middle Age Settings

banner_toptentuesdays

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish list meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. To know more about it and participate, click here.

This is one of my favourite bookish memes in the book blog world, so I decided to join in and contribute with my lists. This week’s topic was Top Ten Books With X Setting. I am a huge fan of fantasy and alternative history books, specially those written in a real or fictional Middle Age period of time (5th to 15th century). Usually, these books come in series, so my list will be more about book series with this setting.

Top Ten Books (actually 4 book series) With Middle Age Settings
(click on the images and links to find the books on Goodreads)

Untitled-1

Kushiel’s Dart was one of my favourite readings last year. This series is amazing in every way, but let’s just focus on the setting. The book follows the story of Phèdre, a courtesan in a medieval historical fantasy/alternate society of Terre d’Ange, which is a fictional/alternate version of France. In this universe, the people of Terre d’Ange are descendants of the angel Elua, who was born when the blood of Yeshua ben Yosef, the son of the one God (aka Jesus), mingled with the tears of the Magdelene and carried in the womb of Mother Earth. The book has an amazing new religious/political/sociological/political setting intrinsically connected to the alternate European world the author created. For this fact alone these books deserve all your attention, but the characters are so amazingly layered and the plot so twisted and delicious that, really, you should give it a try if you love epic fantasy with a dark flavour.

Untitled-2

My all time favourite series. The books are mainly set in the forest of Sevenwaters, in an ancient version of Ireland, and explore Celtic mythology and folklore wonderfully. The story will also carry you to the Otherworld (the world of the Little Folk), the shores of Britain and Alba (that I think it’s nowadays Scotland). It was with these books that I first fell in love with Ireland.

Untitled-3Who doesn’t know Tolkien’s Middle Earth? This one needs no explanations or introductory note. We all know it and most of us love it. (come on… Rivendale?? I would buy a one way ticket there and never come back if it truly existed!)

Untitled-4

Another one everybody knows about. Westeros is one of the best settings I’ve ever come across with. Though I wouldn’t want to live there (the risk of being accused of traison and murdered is too high!), I would love to visit Winterfell, Riverrun and Highgarden.

So, these are my Top Book Settings. Do you share some of them? Which are yours?

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books With Middle Age Settings

    • Hey Susan!
      Yes, you have some exploring to do! 🙂 If you like history and fantasy you’ll probably love these books. I have a lot to discover myself. Let me know if you end up reading any of these, we can share opinions! 😉

  1. Nice setting choice! I’m quite a fan of both the Sevenwaters series and GRRM. I’ve not yet read the Kushiel series but I guess I’d better get to it!

    • Hey there Becky!
      I’m so happy to find another Sevenwaters fan! 🙂
      The Kushiel series is amazing. I really love it. It’s one of those series I kept delaying because I was afraid of it and then, when I started reading, it just blew me away. The author writes really well. The series does have a dark tone to it, since BDSM is part of the main story. But, like I said, it is really well written, not graphic and even if you are uncomfortable with the subject, you end up loving the books.

    • Yes! I mean, the characters are great and so is the story. But the setting is amazing! It’s just like you said… so complex and layered, yet everything makes perfect sense. Carey writes really well.
      It took me a long time to start reading the series, though. But I’m glad I did. It’s one of my favourite settings in the fantasy/alternate history genres.

    • Oh, to see it in the movies!! I really liked the way Peter Jackson directed the movie adaptations, specially when it comes to the settings. I think they all did a great job.

      Yes! You really have to look into Sevenwaters, Asti. Start with Daughter of the Forest, which is a wonderful and completely original retelling of the Germanic folk story The Six Swans, that appeared in Grimm’s Fairytale collection. It is really amazing and after some point it reads like a completely new and independent story. The following books are not retellings at all. They just follow the characters from the first book, which is why it is important that you read them in order, even though you could do fine reading them as stand-alones. My favourite is Son of Shadows. Give these books a chance. I think they really deserve it! 😉

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesdays | A World of Books

    • Hey Jillyn!
      Thank you passing by my blog. I’ll definitely look into your TTT list! I’m curious about which setting you picked. 🙂

Leave a Reply

