The “So many books, so little time” quote + Monthly TBR: August

TBR_august_2013

When you buy many books eventually you realise that you don’t have time to read them all. That’s life. Pure and simple. Unfortunately, we have not yet been genetically enhanced to process information like computers and most mortals still have to get out of their reading nooks and go to work, or any other tasks related to duties and responsibilities in the real world.

A couple of months ago I looked at the immense amount of books I have accumulated since the beginning of the year and I started to freak out. I have no idea where I will find the time to read all the books I have in my “waiting-on-the-shelf” list, aka TBR pile, and all the books from my wishlist that I just keep buying. *In case you don’t know, I’m a slow reader and a fast buyer.*

At this pace, I’ll still have half of these books to read after my retirement! When someone judges me for buying more books that I can handle, I always say that buying too many books is never illogical behavior. In fact, it is an investment on cultural activities to do after retirement. Can you imagine? You are that old lady in the neighborhood with tons of books. You’re hosting the weekly book club and introducing your granddaughter to the classics, the medieval fantasy epics and the steamy heroes you’ve read on your favourite chick-lit novels. Seeing her fall in love with Mr. Darcy and fangirl over the Bridgertons, (historical romance is one of my secret guilty pleasures, particularly Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton series, one day I’ll tell you all about it). Nevertheless, people with self-control still have a point. I bought those books because I really wanted to read them. Still want to! *I’m also one of those readers that plans every purchase very carefully and thinks a trillion times before deciding to go for that particular book. With exceptional bookaholic relapses, when I just bring home a bunch of random bookish acquaintances I’ve made in the next door charity shop* But in this pace I’ll never do it.

Luckily, I’m not alone in this. In discussing this realisation with my book geek friends we all decided to make some efforts to read more books and set up a monthly goal. Therefore, I now have a minimum goal of reading at least 5 books each month since July. I know that it might sound like it’s a ridiculously small amount of books to be proud of, but that was my “best score” all year! I’m all fireworks right now! I see hope for me and for the books waiting in my shelf for a turn.

So, I’ll also start sharing with you guys a pic of the books I’m reading each month and I urge you to give me suggestions, share opinions in case you’ve read the books already, whatever you feel like. I know this is not a new thing in the book blog world. If I’m not mistaken, Booksessed started a meme like this some time ago, so you should check out her blog for guidance. The point of this huge post is…well, there isn’t really a point here. I’m just ranting and sharing with you my concerns about my enormous TBR pile and my annoyingly slo

w reading pace. When the wise man says that there’s “so many books, so little time” he just nailed it. That’s a universal too that every passionate reader knows deep in his/her heart.

Anyway, enough talking. Thank you for enduring it bravely! Here are my August TBR books 🙂 I’ve already finished Before I Go To Sleep, by S. J. Watson and I’ll post the review during the weekend. The others you can see in the photo in the beginning of this post and learn more about them at Goodreads:

Untitled-1

The Woman in Black, by Susan Hill

Archangel’s Consort, by Nalini Singh (public library)

The Gathering Dark (aka Shadow and Bone), by Leigh Bardugo (public library)

Before I Fall, by Lauren Oliver (public library)

The Eyre Affair, by Jasper Fforde

The Metamorphosis, by Franz Kafka (in portuguese)

11 thoughts on “The “So many books, so little time” quote + Monthly TBR: August

  1. Yes, too many books too little time! It’s not FAIR! But I think having a goal is great! In the past I was happy with one book a week, but since I’m about to move countries I’m desperately trying to get through all my books so I bumped it up to two books a week. Umm… struggling with that! haha. Still, I wish you all the luck in achieving your goal, but no hard feelings if you don’t! And in regards to the books you have there, the only one I’ve read is Shadow and Bone (The Gathering Dark) and as you may now, I loved the first but felt the second fit the typical sophomore slump. Before I Fall is one that I eye every once in a while, but have never read. If you read it, you’ll have to let me know how you like it! 🙂

    • Moving to another country and leaving dozens of unread books behind is really what made me aware of this problem. When I think about them I really feel desperate. Of course, I always plan to have them shipped to me, etc. But I still miss them and, most of all, I find myself craving to read some of them and I can’t. So, try to read as many as you can now and buy as little as possible. 🙂

      I’m dying to read your reviews about the Shadow and Bone series! I’ve skimmed through them during the week, but now I’ll sit down, read it carefully, comment (and get even more excited to read The Gathering Dark!).

  2. Haha, I like your “retirement plan” 🙂 I loved The Eyre Affair! Hope you enjoy it too! Before I Fall is okay….but I don’t know, I guess I’m just not really a fan of Lauren Oliver’s writing…
    And I had to read The Metamorphosis, but I really hated it. It’s a good/important book though, but yeah, I hated it.

    • Thank you for the feedback! I’m starting The Eyre Affair today. 🙂 I borrowed Before I Fall just to try her out. I’m not sure if I’ll like Delirium and this one looked like something I might like. Several people have told me that they hated The Metamorphosis! I’m curious about the book specially because of that. And it’s in my Classics TBR list, so I’ll give it a go.

  3. The only one I have read is Before I go to Sleep, (which you have finished). It’s not my usual type of book but a really good read. I did not guess the ending. I started a Jasper Fforde one before but never finished it. Will have to give it a try again sometime.

    • Hi Emma!
      Before I go to Sleep isn’t my type of book either, but I enjoyed it more than I was expecting. I’m having a little trouble getting into The Eyre Affair… I hope it gets better.
      Thank you for passing by! You’re always welcome 😉

      • Thank you Pat, Sorry to see you voted off in the Hunger games, I got eliminated at the night time bit, still interesting to see what’s going on though.
        Have you ever read Kate Morton, I think she is really good. Normally I only read fantasy but when I need something different, she is usually the one I read.

      • I was shocked to see you and Stormy eliminated! We have to discuss some theories on our new death people discussion area 🙂 Our tributes ghosts can now enjoy some poisonous tea without fearing the collateral effects 😛

        I have never read Kate Morton, but I want to do it soon! Which books have read from her? Do you recommend any in particular?

      • Ye I have started commenting there already :). I have only read two so far, got another sitting waiting for me, think she only has 4 out. My favourite is The house at Riverton, it was the first one I read by her and I loved every word. I am quite good at guessing what is going to happen in books and I and no clue what so ever. I recommend it.

      • I’m going to put The House at Riverton higher in my wishlist. If I find it during this week search for used books I’m bringing the book with me. 🙂

      • I see it and her other books at charity shops all the time, not sure if that is a good or bad sign. Everyone that I know that has read her books love them.

Leave a Reply

