Review: Archangel’s Kiss, Nalini Singh

Title: Archangel’s Kiss
Author: Nalini Singh
Published by Gollancz, 2010

How I discovered this book: Second installment of the Guild Hunter series I began to read last month. Review of the first book here.

ReviewDespite not being completely happy with my experience with Archangel’s Blood (book #1), I decided to give this series a second chance because I truly loved the world construction and the mythology created by the author. I’m glad I did so because I quite liked Archangel’s Kiss and most of the little things that annoyed me in the first installment have been improved by the author.

In Archangel’s Kiss we continue to follow Elena and Raphael’s story. After Elena’s transformation the series begins to follow a new path and we are now seeing what was hidden behind the veil between the human world and the angel’s world. This is very interesting in terms of world mythology development, which is what keeps me hooked to this series. We see the Refuge (the angel’s secret and sacred city) through Elena’s eyes, who is now experiencing her new life as an angel (with wings, of course) and coming to understand and see the world in a whole new perspective.

Also, this book is more interesting regarding our main couple’s relationship, too. The author dedicates more time to the development of their relationship, allowing them to get to know each other and establish some boundaries. Which is extremely important, since Raphael was becoming an insufferable character who is extremely overprotective and intrusive, while Elena was losing all the rational and independent traits of her personality to become a sex driven woman. Sex scenes, when well written, are always a pleasure to read. But, come on… That’s not all we want to read, is it? There most be some relationship development and I’m so glad that Nalini Singh established a balance in this novel. Otherwise, I would be constantly rolling my eyes and get really annoyed with the book.

We continue to have new murder sprees to investigate and I really liked the crime set of this installment, as well as the power games inside the Cadre of Ten (kind of the royal court of the angel’s). Lijuan has proven to be quite the morbid villain and I’m curious to what is going to become of her. We also meet great new secondary characters in the Angel’s World that made me really curious and wishing they could have a book of their own. That’s always a plus point for me. I particularly like Aodhan, Galen and Jessamy. Illium continues to be a special favourite  of mine (my yummy Bluebell…) and I’m constantly hoping that he’ll get his own book.

OverallAn entertaining paranormal romance with great balance, much better plot and character development and amazing secondary characters. I’m very happy to give the series a chance and I’m definitely continue to read it. I recommend it to adult paranormal romance lovers who are into the angel/vampire/hunter mythology, kick-ass heroines and, of course, good steamy/hot romance.

3,5-5-stars

Quotes worth mentioning: 

“Emotion without reason lets people walk all over you; reason without emotion is a mask for cruelty.”

Leave a Reply

